Community Development Department

dthoughts
Check out the over 850 stories in our
blog called Developing Thoughts. 

Sign-up today in the upper right-hand side of the blog page to receive e-mail updates regarding "what's new" in Auburn Hills.


IMG_2536
The Parkways PUD under construction east of Downtown Auburn Hills

We're Here To Serve You!
The Community Development Department strives to strengthen the City's position as a thriving global business center, while working closely with our neighborhoods to enhance the vitality and livability of the community for Auburn Hills' citizens.  Whether you plan to build your corporate headquarters here or renovate your home, our staff will walk you through the City's permitting processes step by step.  It's our mission to eliminate unnecessary bureaucratic red tape, explain the City's policies and ordinances, help you meet your construction deadlines, and ultimately exceed your expectations.

As the proud home of FCA US Headquarters, Great Lakes Crossing Outlets, Oakland University, and over 80 international corporations; our staff has experience assisting projects of all sizes and complexity.

Our Department consists of an experienced team of professionals representing five integrated divisions: Planning and Zoning, Business Development, Environmental Protection, Building Services, and Code Enforcement.  

CIMGontact Information
City of Auburn Hills
Community Development
1827 N. Squirrel Road
Auburn Hills, Michigan 48326

Business Hours:
Monday thru Friday
8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Phone: 248-364-6900
Fax: 248-364-6939



Steven J. Cohen
,
AICP
Director of Community Development                                 

Phone: 248-364-6941
E-mail: scohen@auburnhills.org



Steve is the Director of Community Development and City Planner and has been with Auburn Hills since October 1999.  As Director, he leads a team of professionals in the fields of economic development, building safety, land use planning, and code enforcement.  He is nationally certified as a city planner and has received both Bachelor and Master’s Degrees in Urban and Regional Planning from Michigan State University.  He is a member of the Michigan Association of Planning and the American Planning Association.  Steve leads the City’s development review team which is nationally known for its speed and emphasis on customer service.  He has twenty-three years of local government city planning experience.

 

Elizabeth Brennan,
Executive Assistant

Phone: 248-364-6946
Email: ebrennan@auburnhills.org
 

Jeffrey A. Spencer
,
Building Official

Phone: 248-364-6940
E-mail: jspencer@auburnhills.org

Mary Cox

Clerk III
Phone: 248-364-6943
E-mail: mcox@auburnhills.org

Shawn Keenan
, AICP
Assistant City Planner

Phone: 248-364-6926
E-mail: skeenan@auburnhills.org

Christy
Worrell
Clerk III
Phone: 248-364-6945
E-mail: cworrell@auburnhills.org

Rick Oberlin
,
Building Inspector

Phone: 248-364-6894
E-mail: roberlin@auburnhills.org

Dale Mathes,
Code Enforcement Officer
Phone: 248-364-6934
E-mail: dmathes@auburnhills.org

Howard Wager
,
Building Inspector
Phone: 248-364-6942
E-mail: hwager@auburnhills.org

Jack Skinner,
Code Enforcement Officer
Phone: 248-364-6948
E-mail: jskinner@auburnhills.org