Community Development Department

The Community Development Department strives to strengthen the City's position as a thriving global business center, while working closely with our neighborhoods to enhance the vitality and livability of the community for Auburn Hills' citizens.  Whether you plan to build your corporate headquarters here or renovate your home, our staff will walk you through the City's permitting processes step by step.  It's our mission to eliminate unnecessary bureaucratic red tape, explain the City's policies and ordinances, help you meet your construction deadlines, and ultimately exceed your expectations.

As the proud home of Stellantis NV North American Headquarters, Great Lakes Crossing Outlets, Oakland University, and over 80 international corporations, our staff has experience assisting projects of all sizes and complexity.

Our Department consists of an experienced team of professionals representing five integrated divisions: Planning and Zoning, Economic Development, Environmental Protection, Building Services, and Code Enforcement.  

Contact Information
City of Auburn Hills
Community Development
1827 N. Squirrel Road
Auburn Hills, Michigan 48326

Business Hours:
Monday thru Friday
8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Phone: 248-364-6900
Fax: 248-364-6939


Building and Trade Permits Issued:
Y2021 Summary / Detailed List
Y2020 Summary / Detailed List
Y2019 Summary / Detailed List
Y2018 Summary / Detailed List
Y2017 Summary / Detailed List
Y2016 Summary / Detailed List
Y2015 Summary / Detailed List





AH Permits 2015-2021
     
Cohen_Steve_2022_W (003)a
Steven J. Cohen,  AICP
Director of Community Development                    
248-364-6941
scohen@auburnhills.org

Steve has been with the City of Auburn Hills since October 1999.  As Director of Community Development, he leads a team of professionals in the fields of economic development, building safety, land use planning, and code enforcement.  He is nationally certified as a city planner and has received both Bachelor's and Master’s Degrees in Urban and Regional Planning from Michigan State University.  He is a member of the Michigan Association of Planning and the American Planning Association.  Steve leads the City’s development review team which is nationally known for its efficiency and emphasis on customer service.  He has over 28 years of municipal planning and management experience.
   
Staff Contact Information:  

Shawn Keenan, AICP
City Planner
248-364-6926
skeenan@auburnhills.org
 
Christy Worrell 
Clerk
248-364-6945
cworrell@auburnhills.org

Stephanie L. Carroll
Economic Development Manager
248-364-6802
scarroll@auburnhills.org

Gabriella Allen
Clerk
248-364-6943
gallen@auburnhills.org

Jeffrey A. Spencer
Building Official
248-364-6940
jspencer@auburnhills.org




Rick Oberlin

Building Inspector

248-364-6894
roberlin@auburnhills.org

Jack Skinner

Code Enforcement Officer
248-364-6948
jskinner@auburnhills.org

Eric Langenderfer
Building Inspector
248-364-6942
elangenderfer@auburnhills.org

 


Hector Ortiz

Code Enforcement Officer
248-364-6934
hortiz@auburnhills.org
City Trade Inspectors Contact Information:

Brian Claycomb 
Mechanical Inspector
Phone: 248-830-9005

Bill Hyder
Electrical Inspector 
Phone: 248-866-3373

Tom Katich
Plumbing Inspector
Phone: 248-343-2012